Kachina – Ayahuasca EP and FREE DOWNLOAD [Affectionate Grooves]

It’s business as normal for Kachina on their new EP, ‘Ayahuasca’, and that can only be a good thing. The Leicester trio have lift-off with five powerhouse tracks destined for festival glory, and have thrown out a free download too, just for good measure.

The title track swoops through the outer reaches of UKG, ‘What Kind’ throws a smattering of dub wise rudeness into the mix and the thunderous ‘Maasai Mara’ builds from tribal drums into a certified window-shaker.

And considerable support from across the scene – airplay from the likes of Marcus Nasty and Toddla T and features in Mixmag, Crash magazine and more – is only fuelling the Kachina fire. Grab the free download here – https://soundcloud.com/nexgenrecs/agrooves009-bonus-kachina-sun-is-shining – and head over to https://www.nexgenmusicgroup.com/ to buy the EP. Listen below.

Seba – ‘Nobody Knows’ / ‘Implosion’ [Secret Operations]

Seba strikes again with the first release of the year for his own Secret Operations label, and it’s one with some serious club pedigree – one track made it into every one of his sets in 2017, and the other is a drum & bass tribute to minimal dub techno.

Swirling pads top off frantic breaks on A-side ‘Nobody Knows’, a regular weapon in the Swedish DJ’s sets which picks up serious momentum with a frothing bassline that swoops down to the brink of something darker.

Second track ‘Implosion’ hits like the first breath of cold air on an icy December day, a sharp kick of reverberating, swirling vocal pads and stabs which form a dense atmosphere driven by urgent, precise drums.

Listen below or click here to buy.


Quentin Hiatus – ‘Clever Girl’ / ‘Orange Dreams’ [none60]

No stranger to taking drum & bass to the very edges of its definition, Quentin Hiatus takes an outing on none60 for a mesmerising new release.

The record leads on the stratospheric ‘Clever Girl’ which flies on a joyous synth line while bass frequencies ebb and flow beneath it. If ‘Clever Girl’ sails close to the sun, second track ‘Orange Dreams’ burrows underground, packing weight and taught drums into a small space for a heavyweight exercise in neuro-tinged production skills

Released on February 16th, ‘Clever Girl’/‘Orange Dreams’ has been hailed by DJs and producers across the scene. Listen below or head here to buy.


Out of Fuel – Isolation EP [Translation Recordings]

Out of Fuel are back on Translation Recordings with a frozen slice of sci-fi half-time straight from winter on Mars.

With rumbling bass throughout, the Isolation EP is an exercise in atmospherics with stormcloud pads swirling around skittering, urgent beats programmed with frosty precision – four tracks of it. The record is brought to a sinister close with Hypersensitivity’s remix of the Finnish duo’s 2016 track ‘Ghosts’, a fitting end to a titanic EP.

Isolation is out now on Washington, DC-based label Translation Recordings. Head to https://translationrecordings.bandcamp.com/ to buy, or listen below.


Ly Da Buddah & Mystic Dan – Rollin (Free Download) [Real Vibes]

Ly Da Buddah and Mystic Dan are back to bless us again with more industrial-grade junglist drum & bass, and as ever it is available as a free download on their Real Vibes imprint.

With a free release planned every month until December this year, it’s not exactly a surprise that ‘Rollin’ can be grabbed straight from Soundcloud but it is always a treat to get something for free that is so good you would have paid for it

‘Rollin’ kicks with a sliding bassline thrown over the top of frantic breaks, with a couple of jungle-style verses spat for good measure.

Listen below, and pick up the free download from the Real Vibes Soundcloud page.


The Corpus – Cult X / Sinistarr Remix [none60]

Silent Dust must have entered the new year with huge grins on their faces, not because they were particularly enjoying Jools Holland but because they knew what they had in the works for their first release of 2018 on their imprint none60 – the label debut of The Corpus, with a Sinistarr remix thrown in for good measure.

A Lithuanian collective of producers, The Corpus announced their arrival with ‘Cult X’, a bare-bones half-time stomper which growls into life with some madcap digital sounds.

Sinistarr returns to none60 for the remix, which is typically leftfield – starting out with a harshly-clipped bassline before opening out into a propulsive, melodic take on the Lithuanian original.

Listen below, or head to www.none60records.bandcamp.com to buy.



Nuaru – Like In A Dream EP [Free Love Digi]

Free Love Digi ushers in another mind-expanding talent in the form of Dutch mastermind Nuaru, whose Like In A Dream EP is his first for Quentin Hiatus’ inimitable label.

A gentle, lush intro ushers in the title track, which expands into a widescreen half-time roller with definite liquid tendencies. Second track ‘She Blends In With The Ocean’ keeps the focus wide open but toughens things up a bit with a laser-beam bassline and ever-increasing atmospherics.

Nuaru played his first show back in 2014 at the Amsterdam Dance Event, going on to sign to Basserk Records. He has also seen his tracks put out on other labels, appearing on compilations alongside the likes of Deon Custom, Arts the Beatdoctor and Pete Philly.

Listen below, or head here to buy.


Ly Da Buddah & Mystic Dan – High Peak (Free Download) [Real Vibes]

A storming free download marks the entrance of new label Real Vibes onto the drum & bass scene, peddling a heady blend of jungle and jump-up.

‘High Peak’ comes from label founders Ly Da Buddah and Mystic Dan, who have each been in the game for over 20 years, and they have used all that experience to unleash a straight-up bruiser. Jungle-scented jump-up is the order of the day, ragga-style vocals bringing some island flavour while a no-frills beat and gritty bassline provide the weight.

The label aims to release a free download a month from now until December 2018, so stay tuned.

Listen below, and grab the free download through the Real Vibes Soundcloud page.


Hybris, Proxima and NickBee remix Moby

Moby goes drum & bass as three European producers remix two of the tracks from his Void Pacific Choir project.

The Void Pacific Choir came into being in 2016 as an outlet for Moby’s love of 80s punk and new wave, and now a pair of songs from this year’s record More Fast Songs About the Apocalypse have been given more than a little tweak for the fittingly-named More Fast Remixes About the Apocalypse.

Hybris, from the Czech Republic, flips ‘All The Hurts We Made’ into a dizzying techy monster, chopping the original into and between intricate percussion and precise glitches. Next up is NickBee’s remix of ‘It’s So Hard To Say Goodbye’, on which the Ukrainian producer hones in on the strings from the original and splices them into a menacing eddy of drum rolls and bass swells.

Finally, UK producer Proxima gets nasty with the same track, pitching things down amid scything half-time synth work.

Listen below or head here to buy.



Wagz – ‘Exile’ / ‘Zodiac’ [none60]

The consistently brilliant none60 has been panning for gold and turned up Sheffield producer Wagz, who has just dropped his debut on Silent Dust’s label.

‘Exile’ and ‘Zodiac’ find the producer combining huge, rolling basses with skilfully-managed atmospherics and considered percussion to create two warm liquid rollers which hint that maybe less is more – there are no unnecessary sweeps and multi-layered synths cluttering things up here.

‘Exile’/‘Zodiac’ is out now on none60. Listen below or head to https://none60records.bandcamp.com/ to buy.